old flame II new love

God loves us!

2005-11-21, 9:43 p.m.

This entry is only for myself; It is my belief and information I have just learned. I don�t expect anyone to approve or even agree. Please understand that this is my belief and I am just expressing it so please don�t tell me I am wrong because I would not do it to you �cause you believe something different.
It is controversial and a radical belief in the catholic church but it is also approved by the church. I am learning my new understanding of the bible and the church through Newman College. The course is also partly funded by the Oblates.
This information is from an article written by Fr. Duchesneau, he has many sources that has helped him come to this conclusion one in particular is Bernard Sesboue. This is what I got out of the article but most of this will be quotes by either one of this two men.

Purgatory is not a place it can only be an experience at the level of relationship....of a relationship with God.

Purgatory has to be understood in the context of the Paschal Mystery (Easter) and in the context of a Father/Mother judging his/her child, a judgment that comes from unconditional love and not from the pursuit of distributive justice concerned with the punishment of the guilty one. God�s priority in his/her relationship with all God�s children (good or bad) is salvific justice(salvation based justice(fr.D�s word)), restorative justice, is transformative justice.

God�s judgment is totally motivated by God�s love for each of us, and only by the love for us. And not distributive justice which, in God, had become salvific justice. God�s only desire is to transform all humans into the image of God as God made God�s eternal Son in God�s own image. God�s desire is not only to make us humans but also daughters and sons of God.

This idea of purgatory does not sound so bad; when you think of it this way dying, waiting to go to heaven is a good thing. We should not be afraid to join God in Heaven we should be excited to go to the promise land. If we try to be good Christians, ask God for guidance then we should not be afraid.

Fr. D used the imagery of purgatory as God�s embrace. God hugging his child that he has been waiting for. What a wonderful image so full of love instead of the fire and brimstone ideas of the old church. I want no I need to know God�s love!



old flame II new love