old flame II new love

We are who we are

2006-01-03, 8:49 p.m.

I watched the movie Swing Kids the other day. It is based in war time Germany. It was very interesting. It also got me thinking about how people are sheep. We are followers! We stay quiet and let things slide because we don�t want to upset or offend the the majority. We say we are not raciest and prejustice but when someone tells a raciest joke we all laugh even if we think it was rude.
I don�t think I would have survived WW2 if i was in Europe. Beside the fact that I would be considered a disabled person �cause of my paralyzed vocal cord and they didn�t have heart surgeries back then so i would be very sickly.
I don�t I would have been able to go along with the ideas and action taken on the jews, disabled and gypsies. I would feel the need to do something about it however small but I don�t think I could have just done nothing. I would have said something or did something that would have gotten me killed.
I know its easy to say you would do something when you didn�t have to live through the war but I don�t think who you are is determined by society or decade you live in. I believe you are who you are because you have those personality traits. There were people that did nothing and I�m sure that was the best thing for them to do but I�m not one of those people. I feel it is my duty to help people that are misunderstood. I know I can�t change the world but i want to do my part to help out. For this reason I want to work with behaviour problem children/teenagers. They are considered bad kids but I don�t believe there is a bad kid. They are just misunderstood. If you are always told you are bad you will start to act that way. Acting up in class is almost always a reaction to a bigger problem. They may be struggling in that class and they are trying to cope or there is home problems. Last year I was a TA working with behaviour problem kids and this year I�m going to start working with them as a program coordinator. but ya enough of my babbling.


old flame II new love