old flame II new love

Follow the Yellow Fish Road!

2006-04-19, 6:40 p.m.

ya the title doesn't make sence to me either but I saw it on a sign in St.Albert. I'm sure there is more to it but ya didn't see the rest of the sign.
I had a great easter thanks for asking.... We went to the Outdoor Way of the Cross. I love going to that I don't always get a chance to go but we had nothing else planned that day so why not? We drove into Edmonton Friday morning and we planned to drop Teak off an the inlaws but we were running late (don't do morning too well) So we ended up taking Teak with us on the walk. I was pretty nervous about having him there. He had never been around that many people before and well he is not as socialized as i would like. He did pretty well concidering. We had lots of treats and we walked near the back where there were less people. He didn't bark but he did whine alot.
We only had one problem and well we are very lucky he is not a biter. Stupid kid would have deserved it though. First off I should tell you we were there with Jason (our room mate) and his family (his parents, their dog and his 3 year old) My hubby was with teak a little ways in from of us I was walking with the little one. This 8 or 9 year old comes running up behind us to Homer (the other dog) and pulls his tail, he's used to little kids so he just barked and moved away from her. The kid then runs up to Teak and starts petting him from behind. He thinks yeah kid and jumps up. My hubby pulled him down before he could knock her down but my hubby didn't even see the kid until Teak was already back on the ground. All this time the mother is just following the kid not telling her to stop only sayiong well maybe that puppy isn't very nice. Another lady walking by us starts bitching out the mother telling her how dangerous it is to let your child go up to a strange dog without asking the owner if it's okay. I was so glad this lady said these things so I didn't have to seeing as my dog just jumped up. But it is true how many reported dog bites happen when the owners are with the dog its when they come up to the dog when the owners are not there.
Teak is a good dog but he is still young (7months) and we are still training him. We don't have many friends with kids and the ones that do are not living in Whitecourt. The neighbourhood kids come up to him once and a while but they always ask first and we have time to grab his collar first so he stays down.
We know he won't bite 'cause we have worked alot with that. he will back up with his jaw relaxed if he touches skin with his mouth. We have also had people he doesn't know very well do it to see if he will do it with them as well.
But anyways that was not really about my easter it was more my rant on the stupid kid but ya I got me a good doggie. So I guess I'll finish up telling about my weekend tomorrow....


old flame II new love