old flame II new love

School Sucks!!!!!

2004-10-05, 12:39 p.m.

Saturday:
Why is there always someone Fucking with my life? Is it really too much to ask to let me fuck up my own life for once? I�m sure I don�t really need that sort of help I can do it all on my own!
I really thought this is my turn to live my life my way. My rules my life but NO it apparently is too much to ask for me to enjoy life.
My mom phoned me up to tell me I have mail at her house and asked me if I wanted her to open it up for me, I said yes since it was from GMCC and well I live very far away from Edmonton now. I was thinking it was my Non-violent certification, which I am waiting for from one of my profs.
The letter was not what I wanted to hear at all. It said I did not meet the requirements to receive my Special Needs Teacher Assistant Certificate. WHAT THE FUCK!!!!!! It says I did not receive a GPA of 2.1 or higher. These are my GPAs for the year: Fall 2.050, winter 2.573 and spring 3.48. Now I know I am not good at math but how the hell do they get under 2.0 GPA? The spring semester does have less of a weighing since it is only 3 classes but the average between the fall and winter semesters is still over their minimum. I did poorly in 2 of my classes and I only got a D+ in those classes but that still isn�t a fail! The only way I can see of why they would get under 2.0 GPA is if they are using my cumulative GPA for all of the courses I have taken at GMCC which doesn�t make sense since the General studies I took before has absolutely nothing to do with the Teacher�s Assistant program and I took general studies 2years before this program.
Does this mean that if you ever fail at Grant there is no point of trying again? Since they are just going to hold that fail over your head and not let you redeem yourself?
I have been angry and upset before but this is an all time new anger for me I am actually shaking and so close to driving to Edmonton to �talk� to the registrars office in person (the only thing that is stopping me is that I work this week and I really don�t need the principal knowing about this at the moment)
The letter is basically telling me that I just wasted 5 thousand dollars and a whole year of my life for FUCK ALL!!!! If I had been working my shitty ass job last year instead of being in school I would not be in debt.
Wednesday:
So I have finally got some useful information from Grant. I phoned the registrars office Monday after work to see what was going on. They didn�t know anything about it but they gave me the number of someone that could help me. I then phoned them only to get voicemail; I left a message saying what the situation was and asked them to call me back as soon as possible. They phoned this morning got out my file and told me that she was not the person that can do anything about this. She then sent me back to the registrar�s office but this time to the person that I should have been sent in the fist place on Monday. This woman was so nice! She seemed to completely understand why I was frustrated and said that she was on �my side� and that she would help me get this all sorted out. She explained that yes the school was looking at my cumulative GPA but we could work around that. She said the first thing I need to do is contact the program director and ask her to take my case to the �board� and ask them to not use my general studies marks. To only consider the Special Needs Educational Assistant marks. If the �board� refuses to do this then it will be up to my program director to say which course I should do over again to raise my GPA. The Really shitty thing about that is that I am so close but not. My Cumulative GPA is 1.951 I need 2.0. And if I have to redo a course then I will not be able to until winter and I won�t be able to take this program offered at Northern Lakes College I want to take. It would be really helpful in getting jobs and would get me one step closer to what I want to be. (I want to organize an after school program for �at risk� kids that is not sports oriented)
I am trying to stay optimistic but it is not easy. I just want to curl up in a corner and cry. It really does seem that for every one step forward I make someone tries to push me back 3 steps. I know life is not easy but come on! Give me a freaking break once in a while!


old flame II new love