old flame II new love

Northcountry fair and the north

2005-08-04, 1:04 p.m.

I'm in the truck at this very moment but when you will read this I will be back in Edmonton. We are on highway 1 on our way back to Alberta but ya we need to go back in time to explain all that.
I have had a very intersting 2 weeks. I am offically moved out of the trailer and no longer live in Paddle Prairie but we have to go back to get our bed and Vitara (my suv). So our last day of work was June 24 and we were suppost to "work" until noon but we were released at 11am 'cause there was a furneral that afternoon.
We finished packing but didnt finish cleaning that afternoon, then drove down to North country fair for the weekend. The fair was very different from other years since it was in a different location and much smaller. I really like this new way of doing the fair. Its more grassroots, relax with friends and family sort of thing instead of lets get drunk and stoned and party all night. there was still drinking and drugs but it was more low key. Everyone was there for the music and having fun not picking fights. I ran into an old friend at the fair. I never thought I would ever see him at the fair. I don't know why I thought that, maybe 'cause its more a music thing and not a drama /dance thing. But anyways it was good to see him again. My cousins were playing at the fair so I saw 3 of the 4 times they were playing. I think they are really good! My cousin is Cindy Scott (she has a website but I'll have to look it up) She is really my second cousin; her dad is my great uncle but the guy she was playing with, Sheldon is my first cousin. So ya.....I got to buy some clothes at the fair; A green skirt, a dress I think I'm going to wear to ryan & stef's wedding and my fav thing I got rainbow mitts. They are so fun! (well as fun as mitts can be that is) I am already thinking about next year at the fair. It would be great if we can get a bunch of friends to come out with us. Next year we won't be moving at the same time plus my husband won't have exams to deal with. (he is teaching Religion, Calm, health and CTS) so we will be more relaxed and not so tired.
So that was our weekend we went back to paddle sunday night to finish cleaning and visited our neightbours. They kept us very well fed. (think I gain a couple pounds in those 2 days) We then drove to the Northwest Territories on tuesday.
We saw several beautiful waterfalls on the way up to Yellowknife. It was so pretty there, lakes everywhere. One of the best things is they have a pink highway going there. yes I said pink! It's weird.
We spent a lot of our time in the bar that my husband's cousin works at, I'm additied to NTN even though I kinda suck at it. It's fun and stuff!
Well anyway I loved it there I think I will return someday. We got back to Paddle Prairie on Monday and got the stuff that the neighbours were keeping for us and picked up our chickens. Yes we have chickens. My husband is a little crazy I think. So we have 10 chickens and we start driving to whitecourt to look for a place to live. We stayed over night at the Travelodge and the chickens stayed in the truck.
That was the start of our summer adventure. We spent a week in Edmonton but thats for another day.....


old flame II new love