old flame II new love

one, two, three, flatten the sand castle!

2004-07-06, 10:40 p.m.

I finished my 3rd day at my new job at the day care and I'm still not sure if I like it. I'm working mostly with an autistic 12 year old girl that has very little language skills. I am finding it very hard to act really excited about little things like emptying her shoes of sand. If I don't act really excited its hard to get her to sit down and then I have to take her shoes off for her when she can do it her self. She also bursts into tears very easily if she can't do what she wants (normally because she can't verbalize what she wants) All day is a guessing game for me to figure out.

Another problem I have is the boys her age are not "very nice" to her and are horrable to her if I'm not standing right next to her. I would prefer if they could be more like the girls are. They mostly ignore her but she likes to say "hi" to everyone (all the time) the girls say hi to her and then continue what they are doing. They let her play by them and at times they will hand her a toy or game piece so she feels included. The younger children sort of play with her but they more or less ignore her as well. There is only so much I can do to include her in their activities but luckly she is willing to just watch the others.

Well anyways I work again at 9 so I should get to bed.



old flame II new love