old flame II new love

Paychecks and Cookbooks

2004-09-15, 7:14 p.m.

I�m sort of jobless here yet not. I�m bored but that is not from a lack of something to do I�m just�well�I�m lazy.

I�m mostly a housewife but if I were to get paid for it I would probably get fired. I�m not really a good cook (although I really am trying) and I hate cleaning (I do it though) and well mostly I just sleep and read most of the day. I should be making big fancy dinners since I have the time to do them but instead I make Sheppard�s pie and easy stuff like that. The house should be spotless at all times but lets face it I�m a grub. The dishes are almost always done but that�s partly because if they are not done Mike does them after school and then I feel guilty. I hate feeling guilty so I do as little as possible to look like I�m doing stuff. In other words I do at least one thing a day to make it look like I�m productive. (Mostly that supper) And well I live with two boys that probably don�t know that Sheppard�s pie is really easy to make. What they don�t know won�t hurt them.

But anyways on to jobs that I would get paid for, I have a couple of options at the moment. There is a position for a general T.A. at the KegRiver school that is 4 days a week and there is very good chance I�ll get it if I apply. The ad only asks that you have grade 12 and well I have my T.A. certificate so they don�t need to train me. (the pay would be the same either way) The problem with that job is that keg is 20 minutes down the highway and I don�t see very well in the dark. During the winter it�s not going to be dark still around 8am, then you add snow and wildlife. Not sure if I should really be on the road then; what do you think? There is also a position at the HeadStart program (playschool for �at risk� children). They were looking for a teacher for the program but it looks like they hired one on Monday. The �teacher� should have their level 3 in early Childhood development however when you live in fairly isolated community they will take the closest they can get. Anyways they would like to have a T.A. there as well. And well that�s what I am! Another bonus of this job is that it is less then a block away from where I live.

The Paddle Prairie school also has some possibilities. The principal would like to have me as their main substitute teacher since I�m more qualified then their usual subs and because I live on the schools property so it makes sense that I work for the school. (my house is owned by Northlands school division) I think it�s sad that I�m more qualified then the other subs. They are normally resent grads that are hired to basically babysit the students until the real teacher comes back. I at least know classroom management and how to read a lesson plan. I think they also like the idea that I know how to deal with behaviour problem students. The principal is also trying to get funding to hire me as a part time T.A. as well. Mike would then be my boss. I have already subbed twice last week and they have already asked me to work 10 days of sure in the next 3 months and I am on call all the time until I get another job if I do.

The guy that owns the store also suggested I apply there but I think I have moved on from retail work. It�s not like I really need to work at the moment. All the money I will make is going to extra savings. Its not like we really have anything to spend money one here anyways. The closest restaurant is 40min away in High Level and the closest movie theatre is in Manning, which is 80min away.

I think I have rambled on long enough for now I should go start supper. We are having Poached Salmon in alfredo sauce on a bed of pasta with deep fried zucchini as an appetizer and ice cream for dessert (what you expect chocolate mousse pie as well? I�m new at this)



old flame II new love